Rescribe: Punjabi Translation Notes

Rescribe Logo



Punjabi is the main language spoken in the Punjab region of India (Lahore and Amritsar) that is in dispute between Pakistan and India. It is one of India's national languages and is widely spoken in Pakistan. There are more than 100 million speakers of Punjabi.

There are several dozen dialects. Amongst the main ones are Western Punjabi (dominant in Pakistan) and Eastern Punjabi (dominant in India).

Punjabi has several scripts: Lahnda and Gurumukhi amongst them. (Lahnda is another name for the Western Punjabi dialect, Gurumukhi for the Eastern Punjabi dialect.)

Back to language list

Translations in Farsi, Hebrew, Arabic, Italian, Dutch, French, German and many other languages
Copyright Rescribe 2001